Author Topic: Annoying fault in I.E.  (Read 3866 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline The Moan Ranger

  • Administrator
  • Power Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 13454
  • Reputation: 0
  • No surrender
Annoying fault in I.E.
« on: July 04, 2007, 11:44:15 AM »
I work  in an office with approx 330 people, all of whom should have the same basic PC build.

A number of users have a problem whereby, if they are sent a hyplerink via Outlook 2003 (say www.google.com) then when they click on it, it only opens their homepage - which is the Company Intranet homepage - if IE isn't already running.

If it is running, it goes straight to the right destination.

Some users, however, can click on the hyperlink with IE NOT running and it opens IE AND then goes to the right destination.

Any ideas? It's doing my head in  Banghead Banghead Banghead


Offline Barman

  • Administrator
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 140140
  • Reputation: -49
  • Since 1960...
    • Virtual Pub!
Re: Annoying fault in I.E.
« Reply #1 on: July 04, 2007, 12:00:44 PM »
I work  in an office with approx 330 people, all of whom should have the same basic PC build.

A number of users have a problem whereby, if they are sent a hyplerink via Outlook 2003 (say www.google.com) then when they click on it, it only opens their homepage - which is the Company Intranet homepage - if IE isn't already running.

If it is running, it goes straight to the right destination.

Some users, however, can click on the hyperlink with IE NOT running and it opens IE AND then goes to the right destination.

Any ideas? It's doing my head in  Banghead Banghead Banghead


I had a customer with a similar problem ? turned out to be his anti-virus software that had the home page ?locked? and impossible to change ? some anti-hacking solution or to prevent some errant website changing your homepage to wankygrandmas.com or whatever?

Had to edit the home page within the settings of the virus software?
Pro Skub  Thumbs:

Offline The Moan Ranger

  • Administrator
  • Power Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 13454
  • Reputation: 0
  • No surrender
Re: Annoying fault in I.E.
« Reply #2 on: July 04, 2007, 12:32:12 PM »
We all have the same virus software and homepage, so not sure it's that.

Offline Barman

  • Administrator
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 140140
  • Reputation: -49
  • Since 1960...
    • Virtual Pub!
Re: Annoying fault in I.E.
« Reply #3 on: July 04, 2007, 12:33:58 PM »
We all have the same virus software and homepage, so not sure it's that.

rubschin:
Can?t think of anything else that would cause it I?m afraid.  shrugs:
Pro Skub  Thumbs:

Offline The Moan Ranger

  • Administrator
  • Power Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 13454
  • Reputation: 0
  • No surrender
Re: Annoying fault in I.E.
« Reply #4 on: July 04, 2007, 01:24:55 PM »
The barrage ballon opposite me (AKA Pembers) doesn't have the problem - I fear I may have to compare his PC against mine - setting by bloody setting... Angry9:

Offline The Moan Ranger

  • Administrator
  • Power Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 13454
  • Reputation: 0
  • No surrender
Re: Annoying fault in I.E.
« Reply #5 on: July 04, 2007, 01:28:29 PM »
P.S. This ONLY happens on hyperlinks within Outlook 2003 - any hyperlink on Word, Excel or Powerpoint is fine, if that helps... sad24:

Offline Barman

  • Administrator
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 140140
  • Reputation: -49
  • Since 1960...
    • Virtual Pub!
Re: Annoying fault in I.E.
« Reply #6 on: July 04, 2007, 03:46:26 PM »
 shrugs:
Pro Skub  Thumbs:

Offline Uncle Mort

  • Power Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 18086
  • Reputation: 2
Re: Annoying fault in I.E.
« Reply #7 on: July 04, 2007, 04:04:10 PM »
 shrugs: That's what our I.T. department does half the time.

I blame Bill Gates and leave it at that.

Misunderstood

  • Guest
Re: Annoying fault in I.E.
« Reply #8 on: July 04, 2007, 04:34:59 PM »
I work  in an office with approx 330 people, all of whom should have the same basic PC build.

A number of users have a problem whereby, if they are sent a hyplerink via Outlook 2003 (say www.google.com) then when they click on it, it only opens their homepage - which is the Company Intranet homepage - if IE isn't already running.

If it is running, it goes straight to the right destination.

Some users, however, can click on the hyperlink with IE NOT running and it opens IE AND then goes to the right destination.

Any ideas? It's doing my head in  Banghead Banghead Banghead



I tend to go along with Barman to a point where it is being directed by a default setting to homepage only opening, I wonder if you are all logged on into the same domain/workgroup or sub-domains? And whether the anomaly is linked to an particular address range or not.

It would also be helpful to note that whilst the first click selects the home page, does a second click (only) proceed as normal to the intended page?

Offline Darwins Selection

  • Power Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 38435
  • Reputation: 6
  • I mostly despair
Re: Annoying fault in I.E.
« Reply #9 on: July 04, 2007, 05:02:33 PM »
I am impressed that nobody has blamed it on not using Manilla Foxbat for a change.

Well done you geeks, keep up the good work. ;)
I mostly despair

Berek

  • Guest
Re: Annoying fault in I.E.
« Reply #10 on: July 04, 2007, 06:15:13 PM »
I am impressed that nobody has blamed it on not using Manilla Foxbat for a change.


 lol: lol: lol: lol: lol: drumroll: drumroll: drumroll:

applauded

Offline The Moan Ranger

  • Administrator
  • Power Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 13454
  • Reputation: 0
  • No surrender
Re: Annoying fault in I.E.
« Reply #11 on: July 04, 2007, 08:25:38 PM »
I have a fix - need to test it live tomorrow in the work enviornment. It's an .exe file that changes the registry. Presume, Barman, not allowed here?

Offline Barman

  • Administrator
  • Needs to get out more...
  • *****
  • Posts: 140140
  • Reputation: -49
  • Since 1960...
    • Virtual Pub!
Re: Annoying fault in I.E.
« Reply #12 on: July 05, 2007, 07:54:33 AM »
I have a fix - need to test it live tomorrow in the work enviornment. It's an .exe file that changes the registry. Presume, Barman, not allowed here?
I think its okay - Zip anyway...
Pro Skub  Thumbs:

Offline The Moan Ranger

  • Administrator
  • Power Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 13454
  • Reputation: 0
  • No surrender
Re: Annoying fault in I.E.
« Reply #13 on: July 05, 2007, 07:56:22 AM »
Change this:-

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\htmlfile\shell\opennew\command]
@="\"C:\\Program Files\\Internet Explorer\\IEXPLORE.EXE\"

to

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\htmlfile\shell\opennew\command]
@="\"C:\\Program Files\\Internet Explorer\\IEXPLORE.EXE\" %1"

Voila.


Berek

  • Guest
Re: Annoying fault in I.E.
« Reply #14 on: July 05, 2007, 07:59:31 AM »
Change this:-

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\htmlfile\shell\opennew\command]
@="\"C:\\Program Files\\Internet Explorer\\IEXPLORE.EXE\"

to

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\htmlfile\shell\opennew\command]
@="\"C:\\Program Files\\Internet Explorer\\IEXPLORE.EXE\" %1"

Voila.



I bet you wear glasses whistle: