Disgusterous

Author Topic: Credit Crunch = Good for Sport?  (Read 1898 times)

Online Barman

• Administrator
  • Needs to get out more...
  • Since 1960...
    • Virtual Pub!
Credit Crunch = Good for Sport?
« on: October 08, 2008, 07:48:42 AM »
I’m not an expert in matters sporting (as you may well have noticed)…

However, I hear on the wireless that there are fears that limited credit may affect The Premiership and even F1…

I can’t help but think it would be great to see a few football prima donnas forced onto the dole queue because their clubs can no longer afford to pay them a squillion Pounds every time their personal assistant ties their boot laces…

Eventually, they’d crawl back of course and be willing to work for much less… even ‘Hello’ won’t be able to pay them a bag o’ sand for every piece of used toilet paper they can produce… The WAGs would be reduced to pushing a trolley around Lidl…

And F1 would be better too… today’s cars are optimized to the most minute level at the cost of countless millions every season – plus the outrageous salaries that the top drivers can command. I’d be far happier to watch real racing, with identical cars and, um overtaking if anybody can remember it?

Imagine, no ridiculous tire changing rules, no pit stops just 60 laps of pure racing…  cloud9:

I might even watch it again...  whistle:
Pro Skub  Thumbs:

Offline Snoopy

• Administrator
  • Power Poster
  • In the Prime of Senility
Re: Credit Crunch = Good for Sport?
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2008, 09:20:08 AM »
Dream on BM ~ dream on.
I used to have a handle on life but it broke.

Online Barman

• Administrator
  • Since 1960...
    • Virtual Pub!
« Reply #2 on: December 05, 2008, 07:18:47 AM »
I'm dreaming...

UK Honda staff facing redundancy

Quote from: BBC Web Shite
Staff at Honda in Brackley, Northamptonshire, have been warned they face redundancy after news the Formula One team has been put up for sale.